The Sequel

The Daily Prompt : When was the last time you watched something so scary, cringe-worthy, or unbelievably tacky — in a movie, on TV, or in real life — you had to cover your eyes?

You’d think that in the internet age not much could offend a person to the point of cringing. It was not too terribly long ago that I walked out of a movie theater. I won’t say the title of the film. No matter what I say, it will offend some fan somewhere. Yeah, as though that many people are reading this.

It was the reaction to it that was funny after we thought about it. The ‘we’ in that sentence is me and my younger brother Bryce. I can’t call him my little brother because at sixteen he’s a good deal bigger than I am now. We went together to see the sequel to a movie that we had both loved. The sequel was not as good. That’s not a surprise. It didn’t just fall flat though. It was so spectacularly boring that we just couldn’t last all the way through it. We almost did, but only because each of us thought the other might be enjoying it. After a long, ‘suspenseful’ scene had me squirming with the opposite of anticipation, I knew I couldn’t stay where I was. I remember when I was very young that sometimes Dad would tell us he would wait to one side, standing near the exit. I never knew why. Now I do. It’s just a bit comforting when you’re that eager to leave. I leaned over and whispered to Bryce that I was going to stand over there. I don’t know what he said, because I was too interested in the look on his face. “Are you bored?,” I asked.

“A little.”

“Well I’m extremely bored. You want to get out of here?”

“Yeah!”

With that, he was ahead of me, throwing open the door to escape. “That was terrible!,” he announced. We swaggered through the lobby like the two last cowboys standing after a bar room brawl. No one came near us. In fact, several people were quick to clear a path. There was more drama in our exit than there had been on the screen.

4 comments

  1. Now don’t laugh at my comment, but back in 1975, we I was first married, my husband and I got up and walked out the theater totally disgusted. What was the movie you ask? Mel Brook’s production of Young Frankenstein during the graveyard scene with Madeline Kahn and Frankenstein. I know, we were a bit uptight! But I still cringe when I think of that scene….

    1. Ironically, your comment has only reminded me that’s it been a long time since I’ve seen Young Frankenstein. It’s terrible, but I love it. I’ll have to put it on my Netflix Queue. Thanks! (Oh, and I’m not laughing, but I may be snickering. Just a little.)

Leave a Reply

