Some beholders are better than others

Do I agree that beauty is in the eye of the beholder? Hell no! If I believe that, then I would have to accept that some American Idol version of ‘Let it Be’ is as worthy as the Beatles version. That’s only if someone, somewhere says it is, but we do live in that world.

If beauty is in the eye of the beholder, then beauty is not something we see. It’s something we assign. It only exists because we say it does. Saying beauty is in the eye of the beholder is the same as saying that beauty does not exist. The phrase is meant to be comforting, but in reality it is horribly cynical. A sunset is beautiful. The laughter of children is beautiful. The Venus de Milo is beautiful. Tell me otherwise. Tell me that that beauty is only in my mind. I know better.

Why do people believe that beauty is nothing more than a bias? Because it’s one less thing to discuss. If one person’s view is always as valid as another, then there is no reason to debate it. There would be no reason to attempt to convince someone to see what you see. There would be no reason to look for the value in things that are not immediately evident to you. That’s a lot easier, a lot more comfortable.

Besides that, beauty can not be proved or disproved. So an argument about our viewpoints, or even just an argument about good taste, can never be won. You might convert someone to your perspective on an individual subject, but you can’t prove that you’re right. So why bother? Because it matters. I’ve had lifelong arguments with people over certain books, movies and songs. That’s worthwhile even when there is never a victor.

Beauty isn’t always recognized, even by people who have an eye for it. Beauty can be an illusion, because people do often see beauty where there is none. That doesn’t mean that beauty does not exist. It means that you must always press yourself to understand and appreciate the world.

4 comments

  1. Interesting post, I answered yes to the prompt, but sometimes it’s nice to take into account the point of view of those who stand at the other side of the bridge 🙂

    1. Most are going to answer yes, if the responses that I’ve browsed through are any indication. The reason for that isn’t always a difference of opinion; it’s a difference of perspective. How do you define the question? How do you define the word ‘beauty’, at least as it relates to the question? The question that was posed wasn’t exactly well formed.

      In your post, you said, “Don’t let people force their vision of beauty on you. Appreciate it with your own eyes.” That’s rather similar to my assertion, “I’ve had lifelong arguments with people over certain books, movies and songs. That’s worthwhile even when there is never a victor.” I think that I’m not exactly standing on the other side of a bridge.Instead, I think that we may be standing in the same museum, but examining different exhibits.

      I suppose I can add one important point to my hastily composed argument. Beauty may be important, but it is no more important than perspective.

      1. Very true 🙂 I guess philosophical daily prompts are not the most straightforward to answer, as they seem to raise other questions of their own (and yeah, you’re right, how does one define beauty – in my enthusiasm at finding a Daily Prompt that wasn’t causing a rant before I actually started to answer it, I didn’t even think of that!). Thanks for popping by and sharing your thoughts 🙂

Leave a Reply

