In a Black and White World, I Could Take Up Painting.

Imagine a world that’s all of a sudden devoid of color, but where you’re given the option to have just one object keep it’s original hue. Which object (and which color) would that be?

Interesting question. Very creative. Well for me the answer is obvious I would want clouds to be white. Then again maybe I’d want coffee to be black. I’m missing something here aren’t I? The night sky is a beautiful sight to everyone. Can I have two things for just that one idea? The stars will be white and the night sky will stay black.

Maybe elephants would stay grey. That’s not a bad idea. Then again I drive a lot. I do love the sight of the road stretching out into the distance. I wouldn’t want to rob that of any beauty so I’ll have concrete stay grey and I think, even though it’s a second thing, I want asphalt to remain black.

I’m still not convinced I’ve come up with the best idea. I do respect age. Okay, I don’t always respect age; I’ve known too many old fools for that. I try to respect age though. I’m not someone who is afraid of getting older. In fact, I like it. I wouldn’t want one of the greatest emblems of wisdom and perseverance to leave the human race, so I’ll make sure that hair continues to turn grey or white.

God, this decision is just too hard to make. Maybe I should choose for paper to stay white or ink to stay black. I like animals maybe I should keep the color of pandas, zebras, skunks or dalmations. Maybe dice or piano keys. Milk? That makes me think of my favorite cookies, Oreos. Maybe I want Oreos to keep their color.

There are too many possibilities. I’m stumped. The only good thing about it is that if the world stays like this, then I could take up painting.

Leave a Reply

