THE DEICIDE FILES : FADE TRIUMPH, CHAPTER 9

Click here to read the first chapter of the Deicide Files

Click here to see brief glossary

The vahana rumbled into town sure enough. It had been a long time, but I still knew how to find my way around out there even without hitting the main roads. I knew what to do at the city limits too. I brought the vahana to a garage to store it so that I could get back out to Sun again when the time came. Privacy is a big thing at the city limits. Gods living at the edge of the city mind their own business. If I had been a councilman with a bimbo on each arm, driving up in a classic Sleipnir model vahana, I still wouldn’t have been worried about being recognized.

No one knew where I’d been. I didn’t want to head home or to the office. I wanted to get the jump on things by going directly to my next stop. The problem was, I needed to decide what the next stop was. I hadn’t said so to Agnosticism out in the country, but I didn’t have much of a plan then. The drive was long and quiet enough for me to figure it out on the way though.

I had an idea about something we’d missed. You have to pay attention to everything you learn in my line of work. There’s no telling what might be important. During my first visit to Primum Mobile, Loki told me that the fade was dressed to the nines. He certainly wasn’t avoiding attention. Strange for a guy who had just ripped off the DemiUrge Temple for a couple hundred thousand. And we never did find those expensive clothes. He wasn’t wearing them when we found him dead out in the middle of nowhere.

It bothered me at the time, so I really should have moved on it before. When Triumph was on the town, he wanted to be seen. That wouldn’t have helped me at all, but Loki knew fashion, and he recognized the suit. It was a J.C. Forest. I decided to go pay Forest a visit, find out what kind of experience they had with the mysterious corpse.

Getting through town isn’t too bad if you don’t mind the Leviathan. That’s the underground version of the Jormungandr. It’s dirty and you run into gods that would disgust any mortal believer. You can be anonymous down there though. My detective story look wasn’t just for my image. All I had to do to change from a famous face to an everyday god was to take off the hat and coat. I left them in a public locker at the station and rode in quiet obscurity as close to the fancy Elysium Shopping Division as I could.

J.C. Forest’s shop was clean, upscale and only welcoming to those with heavy wallets. I wasn’t bothered, but that’s because I’d had the kind of money in the past that paid for J.C. style fashions. I can’t say that I never miss the high life, but my work made everything better than any amount of devotion ever could.

J.C. met me personally after I flashed my deputy card at the front desk. He didn’t look much like a mortal would want him to. He was a reed thin god who you would guess to have a completely dry personality. Bald on top with glasses on a chain around his neck that were only for sewing magnification. His little whisk broom moustache would sometimes twitch when he had to think of his next sentence. “How can I help you? I was beginning to worry that no one would come to see me.”

I wasn’t certain I understood. “You wanted someone to question you?”

“Well I couldn’t go to the police, naturally. That wouldn’t be professional. I do outfit some of the city’s leading underworld bosses.”

“You know why I’m here?,” I asked

“I assume that it has something to do with that poor chap I read about in the newspapers, the fade who lifted the money out of the bank.”

“That’s right.” Then I told him, “I’m still not sure I understand. Why would you want us to come question you?”

“Are you serious?,” J.C. asked. “You can’t buy advertising like this. Not until after your name is in the paper, anyway. The upper crust loves stories like that. Murder in the wilderness. Betrayal by a soiled dove of a lover. Money from a church in the wrong hands.”

“Fade Triumph’s murder is good for business.”

“Yes, but only if someone else brings it to the forefront. After that I can run a legitimate ad. J.C. Forest, the clothes you want to die in. How’s that for a slogan?”

“Perfect,” I said. “Listen, if you really want your name in the paper, then you want to talk to me directly and honestly.”

“Well of course. I would do that anyway, officer.”

“I’m not a cop,” I said. “Since you’ve been following the story, you know who I am. Detective Axiom.”

“Oh, good gracious! Could I perhaps take a photograph of you for my celebrity wall?”

“That’d be asking too much.”

“I do understand. Discretion is a big part of my business when I can afford it.”

“Well Fade Triumph no longer needs your discretion.” I pulled out the photograph of the victim. “This is the god you outfitted for his final nights on the town?”

“This is the one. Not a very affable gentleman, I’m afraid. You know the mortals believe it’s bad to speak ill of the dead. So I’ll just say that I’m not entirely sorry to lose their business.”

“Their business?” I knew I was on the right track. I was really enjoying this case, I can admit. Every time it looked like a dead end, I was sharp enough to catch the next clue. “He wasn’t alone? Did he have the girl with him?”

“Who, that Bible woman from the papers? No. I would have loved to make something for her though.”

“So would I, and I can’t sew. Who was with Triumph?”

“A couple of gods. I didn’t catch their names.”

“I’ll ask more about them in a moment. Right now I have simple questions about Triumph.”

“Certainly.”

“You took his measurements?”

“Well it would be damn hard to make a suit without them. Even for me.”

“You kept them? I mean you have them written down somewhere in case he wanted more?”

“Yes. The fade’s inseam will help you with your case?”

“Believe it or not, it will.”

J.C. looked up the information and I wrote it down. He was a little offended when I asked him how certain he was that his numbers were accurate. As it turned out, the two gods that Triumph brought with him seemed more like bodyguards than anything else. That was what J.C. thought. Who were they though? And where were they when the fade was being killed? If I managed to find them, would they be on the street or in the Temple? Well I wasn’t looking for them right away. I had to hole up out of sight until later. J.C. promised me that as far as he was concerned I had never been there. I knew I could count on that. His self interest in becoming a part of the news story was more important than being able to gossip.

As soon as it was dark out the party would be in full swing at the Primum Mobile. This time I wasn’t going to see Loki and Michael. I was there for Izanagi Wave. He’d managed the club for about a hundred years. He didn’t like having people like me around. He wanted any kind of authority away from his place of business. There wasn’t much he could do about it other than deal with me. We had an agreement. I stayed away as much as I could in exchange for his help when I wanted information.

His office was dark as always. I think he liked to imagine himself a mob boss like Don Thoth. He certainly wore J.C. Forest suits like Thoth did. And he had a couple of his bruisers there for dramatic effect. “This is three times you’ve come here. You want to be careful, Ax. People might get the idea that you like it here.”

“My image would take a real dent.”

“I can arrange for more serious dents.”

“Oh, can the bullshit, Izzy. You don’t want me or the cops pokin’ around, then you need to have doormen competent enough to keep out the undesirables.”

“I make my living off of undesirables.”

“Fair enough. Speaking of your doormen, I need to talk to the one that let in the dead guy from the papers.”

“I’ll have to find out who was on duty.”

“You already know. The moment you read about it in Olive’s story, you found out everything that you needed to know.”

“Yeah, Ax. I did. You know the most important part of that story? It’s over. The killer’s behind bars. There’s no reason for you to come hasslin’ my people.”

“I think this one was dealin’ against you.”

“What do you mean?”

“You’ve already asked yourself the questions I’m going to ask him.”

“I haven’t talked to him yet. I wanted to see if anything was going to happen.”

“Well, it’s happening now. I think you want answers as much as I do.”

“All right, Ax. But if you’re gonna need anything more from us, you call. You don’t show up.”

“Good enough.”

Izzy had one of his goons pour me a drink while we waited. I remembered the doorman. He was the one who let me in the first time during this investigation. Izzy told him, “Z, take a seat.”

Z looked a little worried. I had to give Izzy credit. His intimidation routine might not have worked too well on just anyone, but the guys working for him sure stayed in line. I tried to be the good cop to management’s bad cop. “Z? What’s that stand for?”

“Zarathustra. Your next question is what am I doing watchin’ the door at a night club. Well, I’m not a real genuine Zarathustra. I’m the idea that idiots have that it’s something to learn about. I get a few drevens from people learning about fashionable religions. Then they either forget about me or they learn too much about it to have any use for a shallow idea.”

“You’re sort of an introductory idea. I guess that makes you a natural as a doorman.”

“Funny.”

“This guy.” I showed him the photo of Triumph. “You remember him?”

Z went a little pale. “He’s the one that turned up dead just outa town.”

“You were the one that let him in the club the first time.”

Z understood the trouble then. He looked a little relieved, the way you will when you know the moment has finally arrived. “He had money.”

“Not everyone gets in here. This guy was a stranger. I got the impression that no one even knew his first name. Loki and Michael sure didn’t. You don’t just walk in here. Who invited him?”

Z looked at his Boss. Izzy gave him a hard but curious stare. I could tell that Izzy really hadn’t asked these questions yet. He had to have wondered, but he must have assumed that if the cops weren’t asking that he might be better off not knowing. He wanted to know though. A guy walked into his place and was a corpse not long after.

Z figured he could lose a contact easier than he could lose his job. “There’s a guy that a few of us know. Chernobog Spire. People call him Boggie. He’s sort of a society agent, you know? The kind of guy that knows celebrities and lawyers, opens doors and stuff.”

Izzy told me, “I don’t know that guy.”

“I’ve never heard of him either. Let me use your phone. Z, you stay right where you are.”

Izzy was past his obligatory hostility. “ ’At’s right, Z. You ain’t leavin’ this room til we say. Who you callin’, Ax?”

I held up one finger for him to wait. It never took too many rings. “Yeah, I need to talk to Officer Sands.”

Izzy hissed, “You’re callin’ the cops from my office?”

I was on hold, so I told him, “This Spire guy. He’s screwing in your affairs over here. You want him or not?”

“The cops are gonna do something? What’ll they do?”

I saw Izzy give up when he heard me talking to the police. “Yeah, Sands. I need you to pick someone up for questioning right away. … No I don’t have an address. Just a name. … Chernobog Spire. … You might be followed. So you want to pick up anyone who looks suspicious behind you too. … No I’ll just meet you back there, all right? If there’s anyone where I’m at watching for me, then they’ll just follow me to the station. They’ll know something’s up, but not what.”

When I hung up Izzy asked me, “You want to bring Z along with you? Or should we just hold him here?”

“Here is better than there for now. If he behaves himself, put him back on the door.”

“I know,” Izzy said. He spoke to Z then, “A little bit of information or graft is always at the door. I’d rather the guy there knows that I know that. He’d better play by the rules though.”

I left the club and headed over to talk to the society agent. God Olive was there at the door to the station. She hadn’t followed me, so I wondered how she knew something was up. Maybe she just got some tip from somebody in the station. I hoped that Sands had sense enough to bring Chernobog in through the back. The reporter pestered me for some questions but I had some questions of my own. “Listen, Olive, when this breaks, if it does, then I’m going straight to you. But right now you tell me if you know anything that I need to know.”

“Well I’m still mostly in the dark, Detective.”

I hated the way she always said my name like it was something you wouldn’t pick up off the floor. “Olive, right now there isn’t anything but dark.”

“You’re such a prick. Talking like you’re out of some bad book. All right though. The girl, Bible Lighter. Before she came to this side of town she was a prize bimbo on a rich guy’s leash. When her sugar daddy finally got tired of her, she was out on the street. You’d think that a girl with her looks would have it easy, but…”

“Yeah. I know what kinds of opportunities can come with her mentality as long as she has the skills for it.”

Olive got pissed. “That’s not her fault.”

“It’s not her fault that bad opportunities are there. It’s her fault if she takes them.”

“Huh. Maybe so. Anyway, she was drifting from one common loft to another for a while until she found religion.”

“No kidding. Let me guess.”

“She tried to hide her past, but she’s an Urgist charity case.”

The press wasn’t allowed inside a police station, so I was spared Olive’s winning personality the moment I walked through the door. Samael Sands was right there, waiting for me. He raised his head in a greeting nod. I told him, “I was tempted to thank God Olive just now.”

“Mm. You want to avoid that.”

“Did you know that Bible Lighter’s an Urgist? She was taken from a bad life and put into their program? It makes my theory a lot more solid.”

“What theory is that?”

“The same one that you’re holding onto even though you don’t voice it. You think the story’s a sham. You think that Bible Lighter is taking credit for a crime she didn’t commit. We know that she was in the club before Triumph ever showed up. But what was she doing going to the club right when Fade Triumph was about to become private enemy number one? I know she was a fringe that was looking for some meal ticket, but one day she shows up, the next a plush pigeon arrives that can be plucked in a few days for hundreds of thousands?”

He nodded. “Yeah, it’s a big coincidence. Ax, I’m no more a fan of coincidence than you are, but you know what I like less than coincidence? Conspiracies. And if Bible didn’t kill the fade, that implies one hell of a conspiracy. Give me something, however small. A lead.”

I told him about my visit to the tailor. “When Triumph was at Forest’s he had two other gods with him. Serious types that the tailor thought were bodyguards. We don’t know who they were or why they were with the victim. Maybe we can find that out.”

“So you think that rattling the cage with this society prick I’ve got in the interrogation room is going to break the case? Now that’s some imagination you’ve got there.”

“It can’t hurt to try. And you’re right, I don’t expect us to stumble onto any big secret this way. If I’m right, and the Temple is behind this, then they thought of that. This is a trail that will go cold before long. Even if it does though, it’ll tell them that I’m grasping at straws. It’ll throw them off of my real plan.”

“And if you’re really lucky you’ll have more evidence to support it. All right then. Let’s find out what we’re doing. You’ve got me convinced, but getting department resources involved takes a little bit more.”

Chernobog Spire was a skinny, skeevy bastard in the most tasteless expensive clothes you’d likely see even in the Primum Mobile. He was impressively indignant. “Oh, now who’s this? Hey, someone tell me whether or not I’m under arrest, would ya?”

Sands grumbled, “That depends on what you tell us.”

“I’m an honest taxpayer.”

“That’s the fifth time he’s said that that I’ve heard.”

I wished I had time to waste. This guy was the most outlandish cliché I’d happened upon for a while. I set down the photo. “You know this guy.”

He looked, then crossed his arms. “Naw, I don’t think I do.”

“You got him into the Primum Mobile. His name was Triumph.”

I noticed the smallest flicker of fear in the god’s eyes before he got back into character. He picked at an itch and rolled one shoulder. “Watcha want me for?”

“You got this guy into the club. You set him up to be killed.”

“Whoa! Whoa now! That ain’t right. You can’t pin that on me.”

“The doorman, Zarathustra, he already gave your name as the man who paid to grease this fade into the club. It fits. You sent some gorgeous goddess with an illicit past in, then you gave Triumph the call. That’s how she knew he’d be there. This idiot was looking for a good time with his ill gotten gains. You helped him with that all right. But the girl got picked up.”

“I don’t know that girl. Honest truth, copper.”

“I’m not a cop.”

“What? Then who the hell are you?”

Sands put one hand down on the table next to him. Perhaps the most subtle threat I’d ever seen. “You answer questions in this room. You don’t ask ’em. You’ll have the chance to defend yourself in court.”

“Wait! You can’t arrest me for this.”

Sands smiled like a shark. “Oh, I can. The one part of Bible Lighter’s story that didn’t make sense was the timing. The newspapers and politicians don’t care, but I do. This story makes it to the headlines, and I’m a hero again. I can’t wait.”

You could tell that Boggie wanted to tell us that he had friends or something, but he didn’t. That told me and Sands both that he really was backed by someone, but someone that he couldn’t give away. What he did tell us was, “I’m bein’ honest, officer. I never saw that girl before. First time I heard a her was in the papers.”

“Is that right?,” I asked. “Okay then. Let’s try this question. How did you know Triumph? He was just a small time worker at the DemiUrge Temple.”

“I didn’t know that at the time. Wouldn’t matter anyway. I know more than one Urgist who gets the urge to party and can pay for it.”

“Ah, but that’s the real trick. How would you know this guy could pay for it? He lived at the Temple. What made you think he had money? It’s almost like you put him up to the robbery, then had him killed so that you could get the drevens.”

“No! Hold on!”

Sands had that look on his face. He was glad that I was putting together pieces the same way he was. “It does look like a story we can sell a jury.”

“Can’t prove any of that!”

I said, “We can prove that you paid the doorman. He’s a witness who isn’t about to do time for you. We have the money you paid him.” I was lying about that, but Boggie didn’t know it. “If we find any link at all between you and Bible Lighter, even if it’s just someone you both know, then we can nail you.”

“I didn’t do that!”

I sat down finally. The guy was really frightened. I bet he was hard as hell when he was picked up, shouting and threatening. He saw that he was really trapped then though. Whoever was behind him had made a mistake. They had set up their buffer to take the fall. That kind of loyal, Boggie wasn’t. I offered him a smoke. He waved it away mumbling something about his health. I told him, “Then I won’t light mine. What I will do is help you out.”

“Yeah, knock out job so far, shyster.”

“I’m not a lawyer either.”

“Well then who the hell are you?”

“An interested party. If you’re telling the truth, then I can find out. I need you to put us on the right track though. If you didn’t set up Triumph, then why did you help him?”

“Money! I was paid. I make introductions. I get people exclusives and dates and I get ’em out of jams and away from attention. I might look like a neon sign with a broken letter, but that’s good for business. You need to be flashy and obvious in my line. Ya also gotta be someone who can avoid all the eyes. So I kind of work up the sleazy agent routine a bit. I’m honest though. More or less. The Triumph guy had money. He wanted a good time. He wasn’t hard enough for the Devil’s Pit. He wasn’t famous enough for the Golden Calf Lounge. So I thought maybe the Primum. High profile, but it’s the kind of place for the high and mighties to meet people who ain’t. You know what it’s like in there.”

“That was quite an advertisement. That’s not the detail I’m looking for though.”

“So what is it you want?”

“Somehow you put Triumph through that door. That means that either you found him, or he found you. How did that happen?”

“He came to my office. Honest! You can ask my secretary and everything. There’s entries in a date book.”

“You see a lot of Temple fades without appointment or introduction?”

Boggie went a little pale. He knew that he was about to cross a line. He also knew that if he didn’t that we were going to roast him. “He had an introduction. He knew a couple people.”

“Is that right? What people?”

Boggie dropped a name. Fade Triumph was recommended to his office by Isis Steps. We asked him a few questions about his association with her. We heard what we expected. He didn’t have anything to tell us other than her name. He didn’t know how she knew Triumph because he didn’t ask. And he wouldn’t have, so we didn’t bother pursuing that. Boggie wasn’t going anywhere until we were done though.

I asked Sands, “Do we know this woman?”

Sam nodded. “She’s someone with a few tenuous criminal connections. She’s not really involved in anything illegal that I know of. I don’t think she’s even suspected. Her husband was until he ran afoul of Don Thoth.”

“Ooh. Bad idea. Who was her husband?”

“Osiris Crane.”

“An Isis actually married an Osiris? That’s almost funny.”

“It gets better,” Sands said. “Their story played out a bit like the legend. Osiris was found dead at the bottom of the Oceanus Canal. He was slashed up pretty good, even if he wasn’t actually hacked into pieces. Of course he wasn’t killed by any Set. He owed money to the Thoth mob, and he owed it for too long. It was pretty clear that he was never going to pay. Isis maintained some connections with her husband’s old brothers in arms. It always made me wonder where she really stood with them.”

It was a story I wanted to hear more about sometime, but it didn’t have any bearing on the case at hand. “Does she have any connection to the Temple or to any pioneers?”

“None that I know of offhand, but there’s a file on her that I can get.”

“Should we head over to talk to her now?”

Sands smiled and shook his head at the floor. “Ax, you’re in a police station. We don’t have to go see Steps. She’s about to come to us. I’ll put in the call.”

I could get used to that. I sat down and had some lousy cop shop coffee. It was nice to stop running. It wasn’t quite an hour’s rest before they brought Isis in. She was a dry old broad with a mouth that stayed shut. I tell you, it was something. I’ve seen guys who were hard to break, but nothing like this. Isis just sat in that room and stared straight ahead. Her lawyer didn’t even have to tell her not to answer. She didn’t hear a word. Not from me. Not from Sands. When I put the photo on the table and asked, “Do you know this guy?” Isis said nothing.

“How about Boggie Spire?” No answer.

“You’re not even going to deny knowing these people?” No answer.

Outside the interrogation room, Sands had to say, “If she won’t say a word then Spire’s testimony isn’t going to be enough to carry this.”

“I don’t need Isis. What we need is for her to tell us how she knew Triumph. This is what you do, Sands. I could get answers from her, but not in a police station.”

“We can hold her a while. I can even get the word out that she’s here. That will make anyone else involved surface when they try to find out what’s happening.”

“Sounds a bit iffy.”

Sands nodded. “It is. Remember, if you’re right, then this doesn’t matter at all.”

As it turned out, this whole plan was ready to backfire. Sands was called in to Lieutenant Ember’s office. I could feel it falling apart. To be honest, I expected it, I just didn’t think it would happen that fast. There was no way I could know for sure how it worked, but I can make an educated guess now. The set up was designed to keep the Temple from being implicated in any way. They hoped that we would bust Boggie for his part. It would have been tempting if we weren’t determined to find the truth. If it was left to the cops, to be honest, it might have stopped there even if they were on the up and up. Whoever set it up had to know that there was a chance that Boggie would give up the next rung on their ladder. If that happened, what would stop the chase from climbing to the top? Isis had no Temple connection, but sooner or later we could find someone who did. But Isis had the right kinds of connections. The moment she was picked up for questioning, someone made a call to someone important. Moloch Winter didn’t work alone. His cabal had money movers and political influence that could stonewall newspapers, detectives and yes, even the police.

The look on Sam’s face made it clear that our efforts were wasted. “Ax.”

“What happened?”

“I’m, uh, the station got some phone calls. Apparently some powerful people in the city think we’re doing the wrong thing.”

“Well that was fast. Where’s the pressure coming from?”

“I don’t know. Han didn’t know. He got the call from Captain Breeze.”

Seeing corruption that obvious always pissed him off. It wasn’t the first time. I was less concerned with politics and the police than I was with getting some guns to the boundary. “Sam, I already told you, if this goes bust, that’s fine. I need support out near the border though. Can we get some officers to go with us? Can I get Sun to send a telegram that requires some cops to head out to his place?”

“No and no. Sorry, Ax. This is where it ends. The investigation is officially closed. I’m not authorized to pursue it. No police department resources can be used to follow it. It wouldn’t even help to go over the Captain’s head. If you want to try to get a squad of cops out there, then word is only going to reach the wrong ears. We won’t be able to get out there in time that way. You understand?”

“So what do you want me to do, Sands?”

“Are you gonna give up?”

I shook my head. “I’ll come up with something.”

“But what you need is out there. You know where to find it.”

“I wish I was a hundred percent on that, but I’m not.”

“Are you certain enough to need another two guns with you? It’s the best I can do. Han was as sickened as you are. When the Lieutenant gets word from on high that a case should be dropped to protect the upper class from scrutiny, then he does what he can to get around the rules. He can’t break ’em, and neither can I. We have our ways to skirt the law too though. I’ve got a few days’ leave. You know Officer Hath? I trust her completely. One of the best cops in the precinct, and I can get her to come along. Can you make it work with two extra guns?”

I thought about that. How much muscle was out at the Icarus place? I didn’t know. Sun didn’t know. He guessed that about eight goons were out there, but it might have been more. And I didn’t know if that included Icarus himself. If I brought these gods with me, then we’d still be outnumbered. Me, Aggie, two cops and Sun. Five idealistic renegades against at least eight torpedoes, bought and paid for. Bullets at the border. There was no guarantee that we’d ever come back if we actually went out to fight. “You sure you want to do this, Sam?”

“I’m sure. That is, I’m sure if you are. Think about it, Ax. Is there any other way to break the case?”

“None that I know of. The only evidence that can prove anything worth proving is out there. The good thing is that if I’m right, then it’ll be all we need to turn the whole city on its ear. The odds are against us out there though. I’m asking you to risk your life, Sam.”

“No. You didn’t ask. I offered. I still have scars from the time I had to protect that hooker from her pimp. If I can do that for her, I can chase the truth out to the frontier. You need the help, Ax. Unless you have a better way.”

Damn, how I wished I was good enough to have it solved already. Nothing could be worse than putting a friend’s life at risk. He was right though. I was as convinced as I had to be that the Temple was hiding something out at the Icarus homestead. “If you’re really willing, I’ll let you come along. How are you going to do this? Don’t you have to turn in your gun?”

He smiled that special way that made him look like something more than a flatfoot cop. “Don’t be naïve, Ax. You know I got more at home. I didn’t last this long in the business of collecting enemies not to have a backup plan. Wait for me at your office.”

“No. That’s too dangerous. Meet me at the corner of a Hundred Nineteenth Street and Qof.”

“What’s there?”

“Nothing. It’s a derelict building, but no one watches places like that. I know what a chestnut that is, but we’ve got to leave town without anyone knowing. If they see us get on the Jormungandr, then they can get word to Icarus. Thanks, Sam.”

“I’ll see you soon.”

If you’re enjoying this story, then please share it. Spread the word.

Click here to read Chapter 10.

or you can read the entire story by purchasing the ebook from Amazon only $2.99.

My Kindle author page is here if you want to see what else I’ve written.

Leave a Reply

